Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda: Reclaiming my childhood

“If you want your children to be intelligent, read them fairy tales. If you want them to be more intelligent, read them more fairy tales.” 
Albert Einstein
 
should have read more fairy tales.
So I could have dreamed more.
So I would have lived my childhood when I was a child, as opposed to trying to find it now..
 
But never say never. I’m reclaiming it now, searching for those dreams that were so clear in my mind back then when I knew less, thought less but could see more clearly. I had an incredibly happy childhood and my family did everything to allow me to be a child for it but it was me, myself and I who wouldn’t let myself go and BE a child.
 
should have lived my childhood then when things were care-free and easy. Regretting is pointless though. Everything we do in life we do for a reason even if we never discover what that reason is. Maybe I didn’t live like a child then because right now I need my childhood more than ever. Maybe these thoughts of reclaiming my childhood were needed just at this moment to help me through the stages of adulthood I’m experiencing.
 
I will never regret my childhood. So maybe I shouldn’t think “shoulda, woulda, coulda”. Maybe those thoughts alone stop the actions being acted upon. Maybe we should all stop saying those three words and start acting on those childhood dreams. If you haven’t followed them yet, then try and think about it differently. Had you have lived your childhood fully then, would you want to try new things and be a big kid now? 
 
So i want to leave you with this from Tom Robbins so that you can live that childhood and fulfil those dreams now:
 
“It’s never too late to have a happy childhood.”
 
 
 
 
2 thoughts on “Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda: Reclaiming my childhood

  1. I feel such a deep melancholy reading through your posts (welcome to WordPress, incidentally), but at the same a strong sense of hopefulness as well. Your endeavor is brave, and important – a lot more important than most people would know, I think. I’m actually really looking forward to learning more about your past and your future.

    • Thank you for your comments. I’m looking forward to seeing what this journey holds and how much I can really learn along the way. It’s interesting you mention the melancholy side of things as I’d never seen it in that way but reading back over my posts I can see what you mean!

Leave a Reply

