Advice needed please!

Okay bloggers, it’s been some time since I wrote and when I say some time I actually mean almost a third of an entire year. I’m back at university with dissertations and essays to write galore so my apologies, but it’s been hectic.

I’ve decided it’s important to make a bit of time to do the things I enjoy though or else i’ll end this year with a great piece of paper but will think back on it as a big stressed blur. So i’m going to try and blog again. How often I don’t know. To be honest i don’t even know what path I want to go down but blogging nonetheless is what I enjoyed a while ago and what I would love to get back into now.

So i’m looking for a bit of advice. Firstly, on how to actually get this blog thing going! For instance, do I need a specific theme or do people enjoy reading about whatever ramblings the blogger wants to talk about that day?

And secondly, i’ve got my idea for the book I’ve always wanted to write. But again, I have no idea about getting this thing going. Of course I can read all the self-help ‘how to write your own book’ articles out there but i’m trying to see if any of you have got any experience? I’ve written my first page purely because I had the inspiration so what are people’s experiences out there? Do you just write where the inspiration takes you or do you spend a year planning every detail first?

Thanks in advance for any answers I get and hopefully will be blogging again soon!

7 thoughts on “Advice needed please!

  1. If you have an idea for a book just start writing it. It doesn’t have to follow any specific set of rules, and honestly every writer writes in a different method. You do what works for you. Personally I write where the idea takes me, but I know others that plot and plan the whole book out before they start. Keep true to yourself and at first don’t care about your readers. Write for yourself worry about your audience during the editing stage. If you need any inspiration, help or encouragement let me know! Best of luck and I agree you always need to take time out to do something you enjoy!

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to comment on this. That definitely gives me some hope and encouragement about getting started and not worrying if i’m not doing things the ‘right’ way! I will most probably be in touch for help at some point, thank you!

  2. The best advice is to just do it. When you are engaged in things that you enjoy, people will start taking notice. The only person who can decide where you want to go with your blog and book is yourself. Make small goals and stick with them. Good luck!

  3. All your advice has been great, thank you! It’s inspired me just to follow my own path and i’ve almost written my first chapter this morning (my first chapter is very short, under 1000 words!). I didn’t know whether any of you knew if there is a way of getting your first chapter out there, just to see what the response is like and if realistically it’s a pretty rubbish story line to be following or not?

Leave a Reply

